Sunday, July 14, 2013

No 'recycled beauties' in Miss Bohol Sandugo 2013

It’s Miss Bohol Sandugo once again!

Eighteen beauties are competing for the plum at the 2013 Miss Bohol Sandugo on July 20, at the Bohol Cultural Center, Tagbilaran City.

There are no "recycled beauties" (whose undying motto is "try and try until you succeed") in this year's batch. However, keen beauty-pageant followers have been telling Bared, with a triumphant ring in their voices, that this year's candidates, are not greenhorns (most of them are winners in their schools and hometowns) to beauty contests.

Like the other beauty contests, the Miss Bohol Sandugo is a rich source of "showbiz" material. Some of the title-holders and finalists who eventually became "famous" include Miss Bohol Sandugo 2005 Anna Maris Igpit who became Bb. Pilipinas-World 2006  and now a TV personality and Miss Bohol Sandugo 2011 first runner-up Ely Rose Apple Angcon who was selected as a finalist for the Olay White Bar Ambassador in 2011.

This year’s official candidates are: 

Shereen Alainah Acuña, 22, from Catigbian, raised in the United Arab Emirates. "Shane" as she’s fondly called by her family, is a nurse. She was declared Miss Katigbawan 2011 and Miss UNO Visayas 2011. Vital statistics: 5’3", 34-24-34.

Brigitte Burato, 18, from Alicia, is a consistent dean's lister at the University of San Carlos. She was Miss University of San Carlos School of Business and Economics 2012 and Miss Gaisano Hot Body SRP. 5’4”, 34-22-32.

Shaila Mae Rebortera, 17, from Baclayon.  She crowned Lakambini at Ateneo de Davao University High School. A Teatro Ateneo president, Shaila is a first year college student at Cebu Doctors University. 5'4", waistline: 27

Feby Dannica Garrote, 17, of Cortes. She was Miss Rock of Cortes 2012 third runner-up and Miss United Nations in high school at Infant King Academy. She also represented her town in Miss Ubi 2012. 5'3", bust: 35.

Ma. Mercedes Cutanda, 16, the youngest among the candidates, represents the town of Corella.In high school, she was crowned Miss Nutrition, Miss Intrams second runner-up and Diyosa ng Kalikasan. 

Phoebe Jhane Bulala, 18, of Dagohoy, is one of the tallest among the delegates.  She was Bb. Talibon 2013 first runner-up, awarded Best in Long Gown and Production Number. 5’7". 

Ruth Basarte, 21, from Jagna, represents the Bohol Table Tennis Club. She was Miss Jagna 2011 first runner-up and Miss BIT-IC Personality 2011. 5'6", 32-26-36.

Brenda Liza Cagatin, 17, of Sierra-Bullones, raised in Doha, Qatar.  She was a campus journalist and debater at the Philippine School Doha. Brenda also joined Miss Teen-ICM. 5'7", 36-29-38.

Genina Abrau, 18, of San Miguel, represents Bohol Island State University (BISU).  A DOST scholar, Nina is Miss BISU-MC 2012 first runner-up and Miss BISU SCUAA 2013 first runner-up. 5’4.1", 33-25-35.

Myra Fritzie Golosino,23, of Guindulman, is a part-time model -nurse and niece of Miss Bohol Sandugo 1988 Elizabeth Mumar Añana. Fritzie won ICM Model Quest 2006. She has won in singing contests.  5’4", 34-25-39.

Jan Jeahnette Labastida, 19, of Loon, is taking up pharmacy at University of Bohol. A member of the Parish Youth Ministry and Confraternity of Our Lady of Lourdes,  she was Miss University of Bohol Pharmacy 2010 and Miss Loon Sidlakasilak 2012. 5’2.5", 35-26-35.

Meshellane Real Jade Cajels, 20, from Panglao, is a nursing graduate at Holy Name University. She is Miss Panglao 2012. 5’7".

Mary Elaine Cimfranca, 19, of Dauis,  is taking up International Studies at Mirriam College. The elder sister of Miss Teen Tagbilaran 2012 and Miss Bohol International 2012 Mary Ebone Cimafranca, she was Miss Dauis 2011. 5’6”, 34-24-35.

Jessica Timbal, 21, from Guindulan, is a resort receptionist who represents  the Royal Business Club. She was Miss Teen Bohol 2010 first runner-up and Miss Photogenic. 5'3", 32-24-36.

Dae Narah Garcia, 17, a college student at Silliman University is Binibining Talibon 2012. 5'4", 34-22-36.

Rhea Mae Antigua, 17, of Loay,represents the Great Minds. She graduated valedictorian at Holy Trinity Academy. 5’1", 34-24-36.

Antoniette Grace Mortejo, 18, of Cortes, represents Marcela Farms. She was Miss Rock of Cortes 2012 fourth runner-up and best in swimwear. She also competed in Miss Silka, Bikini contest and Mr. and Miss PRISAA. 5’3", 35-25.5-35.5.

Lizyl Jane Lomotos, 20, of Antequera, is a licensed teacher. She is the reigning Miss Antequera 2013.

The big question, of course, is: Who of them will get the crown?

Meanwhile, Bared has checked the Miss Bohol Sandugo (unofficial fanpage on Facebook) and found out that the Top 5 (early) Favorite Misses Bohol Sandugo with highest numbers of likes and shares of their photos are: Miss BISU, Miss Guindulman, Miss Loon, Miss Baclayon and Miss Alicia.

But don’t bet on it.

"There are surprises!" gushed Alexis Cadeliña, this year's choreographer.

"We love dark horses, they can make their reveal at the right time," seconded by Emerson Pinos.

Supporters can marshal and campaign for votes. At the end of the day, it pays more for a contestant to compete purely on her own merits.
Acknowledged as the  province’s oldest beauty pageant, the Miss Bohol Sandugo will celebrate its 60th year in 2015.

Known as Miss Bohol (1955-1988), Miss Bohol Fiesta Islands (1989)  and Miss Bohol Sandugo (1990-present), the winners are:

1955 - Paula Raagas- Valles (Maribojoc)
1956 - Olivia Solis -Cabrera (Calape)
1962 - Delia Canda dela Serna (Maribojoc)
1968 - Theoprolia Clarin- Parras (Sevilla)
1976 - Geraldine Galang (Carmen)
1977 - Reza Cabagnot (Tagbilaran City)
1982 - Rachelle Oculam (Lila)
1983 - Marcel Orimaco Gatal  (Tagbilaran City)
1986 - Gemma Manding (Tagbilaran City)
1988 - Elizabeth Mumar Añana (Guindulman)
1989 - Winnie Moreno Lim (Tagbilaran City)
1990 - Tiffany Yap (Jagna)
1991 - Rcelle Adlaon (Jagna)
1992 - Celevel Ranoco (Jagna)
1993 - Mary Ann Eronico (Talibon)
1994 - Vanessa Joyce Matuod Evardone (Tagbilaran City)
1995 - Irah Noemi Naron (Baclayon)
1996 - Lainne Reyes Canoy (Maribojoc)
1997 - Socorro D' Marie Tallo Inting (Tagbilaran City)
1998 - Josely Yap Ferniz (Bilar)
1999 - Maria Niña Cubillo (A.B.E.N.A.), replaced by Jennifer Ejoc (Catigbian)
2000 - Mellanie Angelina Wallace (Calape)
2001 - Jeany Justiniane (Valencia), replaced by Vanessa Cadorna (Miss Duero)
2002 - Cherry Mae Bacarro (Dimiao)
2003 - Fatima Liora Lloren Rana (Jagna)
2004 - Rhiz Novah Arenas (Inabanga)
2005 - Anna Maris Igpit (Panglao)
2008 - Joy Marie Maglajos (Catigbian)
2009 - Daisy Jean Quilicot (Tagbilaran City)
2010 - Amir Paraguya Sol (Tubigon)
2011 - Farrah Faye Abarquez Mian (Tubigon)
2012 - Idy Caseñas Cagas (Pundok Jagnaanon)


Thanks for your letters, all will be answered. Comments welcome at, follow leoudtohan at Twitter /Facebook.

(The Bohol Chronicle July 14, 2013 issue)

1 comment:

Raul Phillip Gatal said...

Hi Leo, i had a chitchat with Maam Delia de la Serna a coupleof weeks back and she told me that she didn't win in a Miss Bohol Pageant.

She was handpicked by the Bohol Jaycees then to be the official candidate of Bohol to the Miss Philippines Pageant in 1962.

She made it as 3rd Up to Cynthia Ugalde. Her pageant batchmate Lalaine Bennett who was 1st RU joined again the following year and won.

Lalaine then represented the Philippines in the 1963 Miss Universe where she made history as the first Filipina to land in the Top Five.

She was 3rd RU to Miss Brazil

With regards 1968, Maam Prolia revealed to us that she together with Emma Mumar were selected in a local beauty pageant as Bohol's two official candidates to Bb Pilipinas in 1968. Miss Mumar made it as Top 15 Semi- Finalist

1976 Most Beautiful Boholana winner was Lou Minoza who represented DWCT . 1977 Most Beautiful Boholana winner was Miss Tagbilaran City Ellen Campbell who passed away last Feb 2001. The 1978 Most Beautiful Boholana winner was Geraldine Galang who represented DWCT in the search